The highest governing bodies of the University are the Rectorate, the University Council and the Senate.

The Rectorate manages the TU Wien operationally and acts on the basis of its rules of procedure, opens a file in a new window (download only available in German) mostly as a collective.
The University Council, as the owners' representative, is the highest supervisory body of the TU Wien and consists of 7 members.
The Senate is one of the three highest governing bodies besides the Rectorate and the University Council. It consists of 26 members from all groups of people and is headed by a chairing team. The Senate assumes controlling, advisory, legislative and strategic management tasks of the TU Wien.

The TU Wien is divided into 8 faculties with 51 institutes. The management of the faculties is the responsibility of the deans, the management of the institutes the heads of the institutes.


The Rectorate represents TU Wien outwardly. The University is led by the Rector and four Vice Rectors responsible for Research, Innovation, International Affairs, Academic Affairs, Digitalisation and Infrastructure as well as Human Resources.

University Council

The University Council consists of seven members from business and academia and functions as the advisory board.


The Senate is the highest collegial body and comprises 26 representatives from all stakeholder groups (professors, non-professorial teaching staff, general staff, students).

Faculties and Institutes

Through its work in the eight faculties, TU Wien covers the classic engineering and natural science fields. In 50 institutes, about 4,000 scientific staff members work in teaching and research as civil engineers, electrical engineers, computer scientists, mechanical engineers, mathematicians, physicists, chemists, architects, spatial planners, geodesists, geologists, economists, social scientists and lawyers.