Group photo on a terrace with Vienna's city in the background
© Matteo Tommasini

The Institute of Mathematics at the University of Vienna and the Institute of Analysis und Scientific Computing at TU Wien started the new semester…

Welcome to the Institute of Analysis and Scientific Computing (ASC) at the Faculty of Mathematics and Geoinformation of TU Wien!

Our institute currently comprises 19 research groups with more than 60 scientific staff members. In addition, more than 50 student assistants are employed to run the tutorial groups of our courses.

We actively conduct mathematical research in pure and applied mathematics with currently around 25 ongoing research projects. Most of our research topics are from the areas of Computational Science and Engineering as well as Quantum Physics and Quantum Technologies at TU Wien, our focus of attention being the further development of applied mathematics.

With more than 150 courses per academic year, we contribute a large part to the excellent mathematics education at TU Wien. We are pleased that our students can benefit from our outstanding teaching and pursue successful careers in industry or academia.

Finally, members of the institute actively participate in the popular science initiative TUForMath - Forum Mathematik an der TU Wien, opens an external URL in a new window. In addition to popular science evening lectures on current, interesting and entertaining topics related to mathematics, TUForMath offers numerous workshops for school classes, where pupils are shown in a playful way the influence of mathematics on our daily lives, on science and technology, art and culture as well as society and economy. All TUForMath offers are free of charge!

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us!

With best regards,
Prof. Dirk PRAETORIUS

Research

A three dimensional velocity field of a flow around a cylinder

© Michael Feischl

Pure and applied mathematics in conjunction with mechanical engineering and natural sciences.

Primary TU research interests:

  • Computational Science and Engineering
  • Quantum Physics and Quantum Technologies

Screenshot der Stellenausschreibung mit Logo der TU Wien und Foto des Hauptgebäudes aus der Vogelperspektive

Bewerben Sie sich bei uns für eine Stelle als Studentische Mitarbeiter_in oder Universitätsassistent_in!

Gruppenfoto von sechs Mathematikerinnen und einem Kleinkind vor dem Eingang zum Hauptgebäude der TU Wien
© TU Wien

Anlässlich des Tages der Frauen in der Mathematik am 10. Mai hat die TU Wien sechs Mathematikerinnen, darunter zwei Forscherinnen am ASC, interviewt.

Willkommen am Institut für Analysis und Scientific Computing (ASC) an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Geoinformation der TU Wien!

Unser Institut umfasst momentan 19 Forschungsgruppen mit über 60 wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter_innen. Im laufenden Lehrbetrieb sind weitere 50+ studentische Mitarbeiter_innen beschäftigt, um die Übungsgruppen unserer Lehrveranstaltungen abzuhalten.

Wir betreiben aktiv mathematische Forschung in reiner und angewandter Mathematik mit aktuell etwa 25 laufenden Forschungsprojekten. Die meisten unserer Forschungsfragen entstammen den Forschungsschwerpunkten Computational Science and Engineering sowie Quantum Physics and Quantum Technologies der TU Wien, wobei für uns die Weiterentwicklung von Mathematik in ihren Anwendungen im Vordergrund steht. 

Mit über 150 Lehrveranstaltungen pro Studienjahr tragen wir einen großen Teil zu der exzellenten Mathematikausbildung an der TU Wien bei. Wir freuen uns, dass unsere Studierenden von unserer herausragenden Lehre profitieren können und erfolgreiche Karrieren in der Industrie oder Wissenschaft einschlagen.

Schließlich beteiligen sich Institutsangehörige aktiv an der populärwissenschaftlichen Initiative TUForMath – Forum Mathematik an der TU Wien, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster. Neben allgemein verständlichen Abendvorträgen zu aktuellen, wissenswerten und unterhaltsamen Themen rund um die Mathematik bietet TUForMath zahlreiche Workshops für Schulklassen, bei denen den Schüler_innen auf spielerische Art und Weise der Einfluss von Mathematik auf unser tägliches Leben, auf Wissenschaft und Technik, Kunst und Kultur sowie Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft aufgezeigt wird. Alle Angebote von TUForMath sind kostenlos!

Für weitere Fragen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Prof. Dirk PRAETORIUS

Forschung

Ein dreidimensionales Geschwindigkeitsfeld einer Strömung um einen Zylinder

© Netgen/NGsolve

Reine und angewandte Mathematik in Verbindung mit Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften.

Primäre TU-Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • Computational Science and Engineering
  • Quantum Physics und Quantum Technologies