Entrance Lehartrakt at the Campus Getreidemarkt

Faculty of Technical Chemistry

In this department, instructions must include both, the general chemical teachings on which all types of technical-chemical processes are based, as well as the special principles and technical description of all the connected trades. The necessary manipulations for these trades have to be taken into account in order to enable the tradesman to proceed directly from his instruction to practical implementation.

Excerpt from the draft of the Statutes of the Imperial and Royal Polytechnic Institute

later TU Wien

The Faculty of Technical Chemistry is still committed to the close practical orientated research intended at her founding. The Faculty emphasises research aided teaching and fundamental research in conjunction with application-oriented research. Close interdisciplinary relationships with international partners from industry and the scientific community are represented in the wide range of programmes offered at the faculty. The research foci of the faculty are "Chemistry and Technology of Materials", "Sustainability, Energy & Environment" und "Bioscience Technologies".

Due to progressive personnel policy and the new appointments of professorships, the faculty was able to broaden and deepen her area of expertise.

Modern competitive large-scale equipment is available at the established centres for large scale facilities, the Analytical Instrumentation Centre, opens an external URL in a new window, the NMR Centre, opens an external URL in a new window, the X-Ray Centre, opens an external URL in a new window or the USTEM, opens an external URL in a new window  (University Service-centre for Transmission Electron Microscopy).

Contact

Students at the Campus Getreidemarkt

Faculty of Technical Chemistry
Getreidemarkt 9
1060 Vienna
AUSTRIA

Email: dektch@tuwien.ac.at

The Dean

Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Marko Mihovilovic

University Professor, Research Group for Bioorganic Synthetic Chemistry

Phone: +43 1 58801 163615 Call Marko Mihovilovic

Send email to Marko Mihovilovic

Show room BI02G04 on the map , opens an external URL in a new window

[Translate to English:] Ba Gebäude

Faculty of Technical Chemistry

Getreidemarkt 9, 1060 Vienna-AUSTRIA

Courtyard, Campus Getreidemarkt

Eingang des Lehartrakts am Campus Getreidemarkt

Fakultät für Technische Chemie

In dieser Sektion muss der Unterricht sowohl die allgemeinen chemischen Lehren, welche allen technisch-chemischen Verfahrensarten überhaupt zugrunde liegen, als auch die speziellen Grundsätze und die technische Darstellung aller einzelnen hierher gehörigen Gewerbe umfassen, so daß dabei auf die nötigen Handgriffe und Manipulationen Rücksicht genommen wird, um den Gewerbsmann in den Stand zu versetzen, von diesem Unterricht unmittelbar zur praktischen Ausführung zu schreiten.

Aus dem Entwurf des Organisationstatuts des k.k. Polytechnischen Institutes

später TU Wien

Die Fakultät hält bis heute an dem bei der Gründung festgelegtem engen Praxisbezug fest, und zeichnet sich durch forschungsgeleitete Lehre und die Verbindung von Grundlagenforschung und anwendungsorientierter Forschung aus. Es bestehen enge, interdisziplinäre Kooperationen mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft, die auch im Studienangebot sichtbar sind. In der Forschung konzentriert sich die Fakultät auf die Forschungsschwerpunkte "Chemistry and Technology of Materials", "Sustainability, Energy & Environment" und "Bioscience Technologies". Durch innovative Neuberufungen und progressive Personalpolitik konnte die Fakultät ihre Expertise in den gesetzten Schwerpunkten weiterentwickeln und erweitern.

Studierenden und Forschern stehen über die Ausstattung an den Instituten hinaus, moderne Großgeräte in Forschungsgerätezentren wie dem Analytical Instrumentation Center, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster, dem NMR Zentrum, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster, dem Röntgenzentrum, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster oder der Universitären Serviceeinrichtung für Transmissionselektronenmikroskopie, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster zur Verfügung.

Kontaktinformation

Studierende am Campus Getreidemarkt

Fakultät für Technische Chemie
Getreidemarkt 9
1060 Wien

E-Mail: dektch@tuwien.ac.at

Der Dekan

Das BA Gebäude

Fakultät für Technische Chemie

Getreidemarkt 9, 1060 Wien

Campus Getreidemarkt