[Translate to English:] GM Bild

© Matthias Heisler

Faculty of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

The Vienna University of Technology is looking back on a tradition of over 200 years. In 1815 its predecessor, the k.k (imperial-royal) Polytechnic Institute was established which, in the first half of the 19th century, represented by far the largest institution of its kind within the Habsburg Empire. In line with its purpose, this institution traditionally has had close ties with industry and commerce and from the beginning it has especially addressed subject matters that nowadays one would associate with mechanical engineering. In 1872 the k.k. Polytechnic Institute was transformed into a Technical College. Since 1901 it has been authorised to award doctoral degrees, and since 1975 it holds the name “Vienna University of Technology“.

In addition to the traditional areas of mechanical engineering, the teaching and research fields of the roughly 20 Chairs of the faculty also include indus- trial management sciences. The faculty offers the two curricula of mechanical engineering and industrial engineering, both consecutively structured as bachelor and master programmes each. In addition, our faculty is substantially involved in the curricula of plant/chemical engineering, in the master curricula of materials science and biomedical engineering, as well as in various postgraduate programmes.

The faculty‘s research activities cover a wide spectrum and are thoroughly integrated in the research areas of the Vienna University of Technology in terms of strategic profiling. Four primary research areas were defined with a special focus on:

  • Energy, Mobility, Transport and Environment
  • Materials, Production and Management
  • Human Centred Design, Health and Medicine
  • Digital engineering innovation

 

This Website provides insight into the wide competence range of the faculty with regard to academic teaching, our strategic directions of research, and the profiles of the individual institutes. 

After activation, data may be transmitted to third parties. Data protection declaration., opens in new window

Video of the Campus Getreidemarkt

Faculty of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Getreidemarkt 9, BA Hochhaus, 3. Stock
A-1060 Wien

Dean

No news available.

GM Bild

© Matthias Heisler

Fakultät für Maschinenwesen und Betriebswissenschaften

Die Technische Universität Wien blickt auf eine über 200-jährige Tradition zurück. 1815 wurde der Vorgänger, das k.u. k. (kaiserlich-königliche) Polytechnische Institut, gegründet, das in der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts die mit Abstand größte Einrichtung dieser Art innerhalb des Habsburgerreiches darstellte. Entsprechend ihrem Zweck war diese Institution traditionell eng mit Industrie und Handel verbunden und hat sich von Anfang an insbesondere mit Themen befasst, die heutzutage mit dem Maschinenbau in Verbindung gebracht werden. 1872 wurde das k.u.k. Polytechnische Institut in eine Technische Hochschule umgewandelt. Seit 1901 ist sie autorisiert Doktortitel auszustellen und trägt seit 1975 den Namen „Technische Universität Wien“.

Zu den Lehr- und Forschungsbereichen der rund 20 Lehrstühle der Fakultät gehören neben den traditionellen Bereichen des Maschinenbaus auch die industriellen Managementwissenschaften. Die Fakultät bietet die beiden Lehrpläne Maschinenbau und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen an, die nacheinander als Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge strukturiert sind. Darüber hinaus ist unsere Fakultät maßgeblich an den Lehrplänen für Anlagen- / Chemieingenieurwesen, an den Master-Lehrplänen für Materialwissenschaften und Biomedizintechnik sowie an verschiedenen Aufbaustudiengängen beteiligt.

Die Forschungsaktivitäten der Fakultät decken ein breites Spektrum ab und sind hinsichtlich der strategischen Profilerstellung umfassend in die Forschungsbereiche der Technischen Universität Wien integriert. Es wurden vier primäre Forschungsbereiche mit besonderem Schwerpunkt definiert:

 

  • Energie, Mobilität, Verkehr und Umwelt
  • Material, Produktion und Management
  • Human Centered Design, Gesundheit und Medizin
  • Digital Engineering Innovation

 

Diese Website bietet einen Einblick in das breite Kompetenzspektrum der Fakultät in Bezug auf die akademische Lehre, unsere strategischen Forschungsrichtungen und die Profile der einzelnen Institute.

 

>Zu den Instituten der Fakultät

>Zu den Forschungsschwerpunkten der Fakultät

 

Nach Aktivierung werden u. U. Daten an Dritte übermittelt. Datenschutzerklärung., öffnet in einem neuen Fenster

Video des Campus Getreidemarkt

Fakultät für Maschinenbau und Betriebswissenschaften

Getreidemarkt 9, BA Hochhaus, 3. Stock
A-1060 Wien

Dekan der Fakultät