Tribology is the science and technology of interacting surfaces in relative motion

The GACHOT tribology research group at the TU Wien studies lubricant-surface interactions, functionalised surfaces for tribological applications, near surface damages in tribological contacts (materials tribology) and new approaches to model contact phenomena at different scales.

Our contributions focus on basic research and the transfer of knowledge to industrial applications with an emphasis on machine elements. 

 

Research

Circular enumeration of subfields of tribology, in the center representations of surface contacts and measurement technology

© Forschungsgruppe Tribologie

Current research projects with focus on machine elements

Teaching

Girl with blond hair from behind points to a sheet of paper on a table

© TU Wien

Courses currently held

Current guest researchers

[Translate to English:] Portrait von Xudong Sui

Xudong Sui received his PhD from the Northeastern University in China in 2017 where he studied advanced hard coatings for high speed cutting titanium alloy under Prof. Dr. Qiang Wang and Prof. Dr. Guojian Li. After graduation, Dr. Sui joined Prof. Weimin Liu’s group in the State Key Laboratory of Solid Lubrication, Lanzhou Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Science. There, he was engaged in the design and preparation of high-performance lubricating and protective coatings and research on tribological mechanisms and was promoted to associate professor in 2018. He has authored more than 40 papers in peer-reviewed journals. Since 2024, he is a visiting researcher at TU Wien to continue his tribological research career at the Gachot Tribology Group.

Research Interests:

  • PVD Coating Technology: MS, HIPIMS, In-tube Deposition, ARC…
  • Advanced coatings: Nitride, Carbon based, 2D materials, High entropy…
  • Tribology: Tribochemistry, Superlubricity, Solid lubrication…

Personal links

   

Portrait of Hanglin Li

© Hanglin Li

Hanglin Li is a PhD student majoring in physical chemistry in East China University of Science and Technology (ECUST, China). He has studied in Shanghai Advanced Research Institute, Chinese Academy of Science supervised by Prof. Jiusheng Li for five years, focusing on the interfacial lubrication of graphene oxide. He joined the Gachot’s Tribology Group at TU Wien in 2024 as a one-year visiting student supported by the Chinese Scholarship Council. In Vienna he continues his research on tribology on 2D materials.

Personal links

  

Portrait of Matteo Vezzelli

© Matteo Vezzelli

Matteo graduated in Chemistry from the University of Modena and Reggio Emilia. He carried out his Master's thesis research at Curtin University in Perth, Australia, focusing on the design and synthesis of Rhenium complexes for bacterial imaging, under the supervision of Professors Massimiliano Massi and Luca Rigamonti.

Currently, Matteo is pursuing a Ph.D. in Physics at the Department of Physics and Astronomy of the University of Bologna, under the supervision of Professor Maria Clelia Righi. His research is focused in the field of materials science, in particular mechanochemistry, using ab initio simulations. He is also a visiting researcher at the Vienna University of Technology, where he collaborates with Professor Carsten Gachot on experimental and computational studies of solid lubrication.

Personal Links:

ResearchGate, opens an external URL in a new window

  

News

[Translate to English:] Drei dreidimensionale Computerdarstellungen der Metallstruktur: Quader bestehend aus kleinen unregelmäßigen Körnchen.

A seemingly paradoxical effect: friction normally causes more damage at higher speeds. But at extremely high speeds, it is the other way around.

Tribologie ist die Wissenschaft und Technologie der wechselwirkenden Oberflächen in relativer Bewegung

Der GACHOT Tribologie-Forschungsbereich an der TU Wien untersucht Schmierstoff-Oberflächen-Wechselwirkungen, funktionalisierte Oberflächen für tribologische Anwendungen, oberflächennahe Schäden in tribologischen Kontakten (Materialtribologie) und neue Ansätze zur Modellierung von Kontaktphänomenen auf verschiedenen Ebenen.

Unsere Beiträge konzentrieren sich auf die Grundlagenforschung und den Wissenstransfer in industrielle Anwendungen mit Schwerpunkt auf Maschinenelementen. 

 

Forschung

Kreisförmige Aufzählung über Teilgebiete der Tribologie, in der Mitte Darstellungen von Oberflächenkontakten und Messtechnik

© Forschungsgruppe Tribologie

Aktuelle Forschungsbereiche und -projekte mit Schwerpunkt Maschinenelemente

Lehre

Mädchen mit blonden Haaren von hinten deutet auf ein Blatt Papier auf einem Tisch

© TU Wien

Aktuell abgehaltene Lehrveranstaltungen

Derzeitige Gastwissenschaftler

Portrait von Xudong Sui

Xudong Sui promovierte 2017 an der Northeastern University in China, wo er bei Prof. Dr. Qiang Wang und Prof. Dr. Guojian Li fortschrittliche Hartstoffbeschichtungen für die Hochgeschwindigkeitsbearbeitung von Titanlegierungen untersuchte. Nach seinem Abschluss trat Dr. Sui in die Gruppe von Prof. Weimin Liu im State Key Laboratory of Solid Lubrication, Lanzhou Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Science ein. Dort beschäftigte er sich mit der Entwicklung und Herstellung von Hochleistungsschmier- und Schutzschichten sowie mit der Erforschung tribologischer Mechanismen und wurde 2018 zum außerordentlichen Professor befördert. Er ist Autor von mehr als 40 Artikeln in Fachzeitschriften mit Peer-Review. Seit 2024 ist er Gastwissenschaftler an der TU Wien, um seine tribologische Forschung in der Gachot Tribology Group fortzusetzen.

Forschungsinteressen:

  • PVD-Beschichtungstechnologie: MS, HIPIMS, In-Tube Deposition, ARC...
  • Fortschrittliche Beschichtungen: Nitride, kohlenstoffbasierte, 2D-Materialien, hohe Entropie...
  • Tribologie: Tribochemie, Superschmierfähigkeit, Festkörperschmierung...

Persönliche Links

   

Portrait von Hanglin Li

© Hanglin Li

Hanglin Li ist Doktorand im Fachbereich Physikalische Chemie an der East China University of Science and Technology (ECUST, China). Er hat fünf Jahre lang am Shanghai Advanced Research Institute, Chinese Academy of Science, unter der Leitung von Prof. Jiusheng Li studiert und sich dabei auf die Grenzflächenschmierung von Graphenoxid konzentriert. Er kam 2024 als einjähriger Gaststudent an die Gachot's Tribology Group an der TU Wien, unterstützt vom Chinese Scholarship Council und setzt in Wien seine Forschung zur Tribologie von 2D-Materialien fort.

Persönliche Links

  

Portrait von Matteo Vezzelli

© Matteo Vezzelli

Matteo schloss sein Chemiestudium an der Universität von Modena und Reggio Emilia ab. Im Rahmen seiner Masterarbeit forschte er an der Curtin University in Perth, Australien, unter der Leitung der Professoren Massimiliano Massi und Luca Rigamonti an der Entwicklung und Synthese von Rhenium-Komplexen für die bakterielle Bildgebung.
Derzeit promoviert Matteo in Physik an der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie der Universität Bologna unter der Leitung von Professor Maria Clelia Righi. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der Materialwissenschaften, insbesondere der Mechanochemie, unter Verwendung von ab initio-Simulationen. Er ist außerdem Gastforscher an der Technischen Universität Wien, wo er mit Professor Carsten Gachot an experimentellen und rechnerischen Studien zur Festkörperschmierung zusammenarbeitet.

Persönliche Links:

ResearchGate, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster

  

News

Drei dreidimensionale Computerdarstellungen der Metallstruktur: Quader bestehend aus kleinen unregelmäßigen Körnchen.

Ein scheinbar paradoxer Effekt: Reibung richtet normalerweise bei höheren Geschwindigkeiten mehr Schaden an. Aber bei sehr hohen Geschwindigkeiten…

Zwei Personen mit Urkunde

Das US-Fachjournal „Tribology Letters” ehrt die TU-Forscher Stefan Eder und Philipp Grützmacher durch Aufnahme in das „Early Career Editorial Board“.