A Master's Programme is an accredited programme of study which serves to enhance and supplement students' scientific/academic training. Master's Programmes at TU Wien generally last four semesters, corresponding to 120 ECTS.

Students holding a bachelor's degree from an educational institution other than TU Wien may be required to sit additional exams. For information on admission to a particular programme of study, please contact the appropriate dean's office for that programme. Although it is called a Master's Programme, students are granted the title of Diplomingenieur (Dipl.-Ing.) upon successful completion of the programme. Students will receive certificates for this academic title in both German and English. The English version confirms that the title of Diplomingenieur is equivalent to a Master of Science (MSc).

Since 1 October 2006, all programmes at TU Wien (with the exception of Teacher Training) are offered as Bachelor's or Master's Programmes, in accordance with the Bologna Process.

Master's Programmes with limited places



Master's Programmes without limited places


Civil Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Chemical and Process Engineering


Computational Science and Engineering

Computer Science

Electrical Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Geodesy and Geoinformation

Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering - Management

Materials Sciences

Spatial Planning

Technical Mathematics

Technical Physics

Interuniversity studies