Collaboration opportunities

Collaboration opportunities with TU Wien

We support collaboration between TU Wien and businesses by assisting the search for suitable collaboration partners and providing advice on relevant  funding possibilities in the initial phase.

The following list shows common modes of collaboration with TU Wien. For further information feel free to contact wirtschaftskooperationen@tuwien.ac.at

 

A research cooperation describes a research project that is being conducted in partnership with other legal entities (e.g. businesses, public bodies, other universities, non-university research institutions). The research project is open in terms of objective and outcome, the rights to research outcomes belong to all partners, and their application is governed by a cooperation agreement. The university has a right of publication. If necessary, finance can be obtained by applying for funding from public funding organisations.

Contract research refers to the undertaking of academic work by order of a (private) financial backer. The aim and purpose of the commissioned investigations are specified by the contracting authority. In return for the payment of all costs related to the commissioned research activity, the commercial rights of use of research outcomes and their application remain with the contracting authority. If necessary, finance can be obtained by applying for funding from public funding organisations.

TU Wien also has infrastructures in which resources are pooled, and interdisciplinary collaborations in-house, as well as between individual universities, are supported and strengthened. Businesses can also purchase the academic services offered in these centres.

Projects that represent the initiation of a collaboration between Viennese businesses and academia can be funded by the Vienna Chamber of Commerce, e.g.:

  • Preparation for innovation projects (new processes or products)
  • Technical expertise to protect new business ideas or new business fields
  • Advice for the implementation of innovative customer orders
  • Unbiased technical expertise prior to investment decisions or for the settlement of disputes
  • Solution for technical production problems
  • Technical support for quality assurance
  • Provision of initial academic services (such as special measurements, analyses)
  • Feasibility studies in the specified operational framework

Consultancy services
Short consultation
Initial meeting with a TU Wien expert; project definition and scope, in-depth analysis and recommendation for implementation measures and the subsequent approach. The Vienna Chamber of Commerce bears the overall cost element amounting to EUR 800.
 

Specific consultation  
Further or more in-depth consultancy, e.g. support with the conception of a joint funding proposal; completion of initial measurements, analyses, etc. The TU Wien hourly rate for external consultancy is EUR 150. The Vienna Chamber of Commerce provides funding of €40 per hour, for a maximum of 30 hours. Business start-ups (up to 3 years) are supported with EUR 60 per hour.

 

The topic for a doctoral or master thesis can be defined jointly between TU Wien and commercial enterprises.Doctoral / Masters candidates working on their thesis should have support from the university as well as from a contact person in the company.  The actual approval of a topic must be given by the university. Please note that the basic conditions for undertaking this type of thesis rest within the authority of the individual faculties (e.g. Directives of the Faculty of Informatics).

Other knowledge transfer contacts at TU Wien

To provide the best possible support for your various concerns as a business, further contacts and collaboration opportunities are available in addition to the partner search for research work.

Are you interested in TU Wien's inventions? The patent and licence management team supports you with joint application projects. Current technology offers can all be found under  Technology Offers.

Would you like to support TU Wien as a strategic partner? Our university would be delighted to work with you to find the ideal project for your suggestion or idea. See Fundraising and Community Relations, opens an external URL in a new window.

Would you like to invest in a TU Wien start-up or get to know TU Wien’s future founders? If so, get in touch with the TU Wien Start-up services.

I²c – Innovation Incubation Center, opens an external URL in a new window.

INiTS – Innovation into Business, opens an external URL in a new window

TU Wien groups its high-quality academic infrastructure into research centres. These core shared research facilities make large-scale equipment and efficient infrastructure available for researchers and their business partners. ​

The X-ray centre at TU Wien offers the completion of X-ray-structure data gathering, structure solutions and data refinement in the single crystal domain. Qualitative and quantitative phase analysis can also be undertaken for polycrystalline materials. Voltage and texture measurements can be provided for bulk samples and thin films.
http://xrc.tuwien.ac.at/home/, opens an external URL in a new window

The expertise and infrastructure of USTEM is available to research institutions, businesses and private customers for the execution of research and development work, quality control, or failure analysis under standard market conditions. Problem-orientated and swift working by a highly motivated and experienced team ensures success and competitive advantage. With transmission electron microscopy (TEM), scanning electron microscopy (SEM), confocal microscopy and focused ion beam (FIB), USTEM offers a broad range of services in the field of structural and chemical microanalysis.
http://www.ustem.tuwien.ac.at, opens an external URL in a new window

The ZMNS offers a state-of-the-art environment and equipment to enable the development of new semiconductor components in research and teaching. The main objective of research and development activities is to transform innovative ideas from fundamental research into innovative device concepts, which is also achieved through close collaboration with industry and international research institutions.

http://zmns.tuwien.ac.at, opens an external URL in a new window

 

More about TU Wien research facilities TU Wien Forschungs-Facilities, opens an external URL in a new window.

 

[Translate to English:] TU Wien Hauptgebäude

Funding support and industry relations

Resselgasse 3, Stiege 2, 3rd Floor
AS Building (barrier-free access)
1040 Vienna

wirtschaftskooperationen@tuwien.ac.at

Team

Kooperationsmöglichkeiten

Kooperationsmöglichkeiten mit der TU Wien

Wir unterstützen die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der TU Wien und Unternehmen in der Anbahnungs- und Antragsphase, indem wir bei der Suche nach passenden Kooperationspartnern helfen und zu relevanten Anbahnungsfinanzierungen beraten.  

Es stehen grundsätzlich folgende Möglichkeiten zur Zusammenarbeit zur Verfügung: 

Eine Forschungskooperation bezeichnet ein Forschungsprojekt, das gemeinsam in einem Konsortium (zum Beispiel Unternehmen, öffentliche Stellen, andere Universitäten, außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen) partnerschaftlich durchgeführt wird. Das Forschungsvorhaben ist ziel- und ergebnisoffen, die Rechte an den Forschungsergebnissen gehören allen Partnern, deren Verwertung und Nutzung wird im Konsortialvertrag geregelt. Der Universität steht ein Veröffentlichungsrecht zu. Zur Finanzierung kann bei Bedarf eine Förderung bei den öffentlichen Fördereinrichtungen angesucht werden. 

Unter Auftragsforschung ist die Durchführung wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten im Auftrag eines (privatwirtschaftlichen) Mittelgebers zu verstehen. Ziel und Zweck der beauftragten Untersuchungen sind vom Auftraggeber vorgegeben. Gegen Bezahlung der vollen Kosten der beauftragten Forschungsleistung verbleiben die kommerziellen Nutzungsrechte der Forschungsergebnisse und deren Verwertung beim Auftraggeber. Zur Finanzierung kann bei Bedarf eine Förderung bei den öffentlichen Fördereinrichtungen angesucht werden. 

An der TU Wien bestehen darüber hinaus Infrastrukturen, in denen Ressourcen gebündelt und die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit im Haus, aber auch zwischen einzelnen Universitäten unterstützt und verstärkt werden. Auch Unternehmen können wissenschaftlichen Dienstleistungen kaufen, die in diesen Zentren angeboten werden. 

Projekte, die eine Kooperationsanbahnung zwischen Wiener Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft darstellen, können von der Wirtschaftskammer Wien, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster gefördert werden: 

  • Vorbereitung von Innovationsprojekten (neue Verfahren oder Produkte) 
  • technische Expertise zur Absicherung von neuen Geschäftsideen, bzw. neuen Geschäftsfeldern 
  • Beratung für die Abwicklung von neuartigen Kundenaufträgen 
  • neutrale technische Expertise vor Investitionsentscheidungen oder zur Beilegung von Streitfällen 
  • Lösung von produktionstechnischen Problemen 
  • technische Unterstützung bei der Qualitätssicherung 

Beratungsangebote  
 
Kurzberatung 

Erstgespräch mit TU Wien-Expert_in; Projektdefinition und Abgrenzung, vertiefende Analyse und Empfehlung für Umsetzungsmaßnahmen und weitere Vorgangsweise. Die Wirtschaftskammer Wien übernimmt den gesamten Kostenanteil in der Höhe von EUR 800,-. 
  

Schwerpunktberatung  

     
Weiterführende beziehungsweise  tiefergehende Beratung, zum Beispiel Unterstützung bei Konzeption eines gemeinsamen Förderantrags; Durchführung erster Messungen, Analysen, et cetera  zu dem TU Wien-Stundensatz für externe Beratungsleistungen von EUR  150,- pro Stunde. Die Wirtschafskammer Wien übernimmt dabei für maximal 30 Stunden einen Kostenzuschuss von € 40,- pro Stunde. Jungunternehmen (jünger als 3 Jahre) werden mit EUR 60,- pro Stunde gefördert. 

  • Durchführung erster wissenschaftlicher Dienstleistungen (wie Spezialmessungen, Analysen) 

  • Machbarkeitsstudien im angegebenen Arbeitsrahmen 

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf: https://www.wko.at/service/w/innovation-technologie-digitalisierung/Kooperation_WKW_mit_der_TU_Wien.html, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster (Förderrichtlinien 1.1.2020)

Diplomand_innen/ Dissertant_innen, die eine solche Arbeit verfassen, haben sowohl universitäre Betreuung als auch eine Ansprechperson in dem betreffenden Wirtschaftsunternehmen, die für Fragen ihre Ressourcen zu Verfügung stellt. Das Thema wird gemeinsam definiert, die eigentliche Freigabe obliegt der Universität. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Rahmenbedingungen zur Durchführung solcher Arbeiten in der Kompetenz der einzelnen Fakultäten liegt (zum Beispiel: Richtlinie der Fakultät für Informatik). 

Weitere Wissenstransferkontakte an der TU Wien 

Um Ihre vielfältigen Anliegen bestmöglich zu unterstützen stehen Ihnen neben der Partnersuche für Forschungsarbeiten noch weitere Kontakte und Kooperationsmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung. 

Interessieren Sie sich für die Erfindungen der TU Wien? Das Team des Patent- und Lizenzmanagements unterstützt Sie gerne bei gemeinsamen Verwertungsvorhaben. Aktuelle Technologieangebote finden Sie unter Technology Offers.

Möchten Sie die TU Wien als starker Partner unterstützen? Unsere Universität freut sich auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme, um gemeinsam ein für Ihr Anliegen oder Ihre Idee passendes Projekt zu finden. Siehe dazu Fundraising and Community Relations, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

Möchten Sie sich an einem TU Wien Startup beteiligen und Gründungsinteressierte aus dem Technikfeld kennenlernen? Wenden Sie sich an die Gründungsservices der TU Wien. 

I²c – Innovation Incubation Center, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

INiTS – Innovation into Business, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster

 

Die TU Wien bündelt ihre hochwertige wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur in Forschungsgerätezentren. In diesen Core Shared Research Facilities werden Großgeräte und leistungsfähige Infrastruktur für Forschende und deren Unternehmenspartnern bereitgestellt. ​ 

 

Das Röntgenzentrum der Technischen Universität Wien bietet die Durchführung von Röntgenstruktur-Datensammlungen, Strukturlösungen und Verfeinerungen von Datensätzen im Einkristallbereich an. Weiters kann für polykristalline Materialien qualitative und quantitative Phasenanalytik durchgeführt werden. Spannungs- und Texturmessungen können für Bulkproben sowie für dünne Filme angeboten werden. 
http://xrc.tuwien.ac.at/home/, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster

 

Expertise und Infrastruktur von USTEM stehen Forschungseinrichtungen, Unternehmen und privaten Kunden zur Abwicklung von Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten, zur Qualitätskontrolle oder Schadensanalyse zu marktüblichen Bedingungen zur Verfügung. Problemorientiertes und rasches Arbeiten eines hochmotivierten und erfahrenen Teams sichern Erfolg und Wettbewerbsvorteile. Mit Transmissionselektronenmikroskopie (TEM), Rasterelektronenmikroskopie (SEM), konfokaler Mikroskopie und Focused Ion Beam (FIB) bietet USTEM eine breite Dienstleistungspalette im Bereich der strukturellen und chemischen Mikroanalyse an. 
http://www.ustem.tuwien.ac.at, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster

 

Das ZMNS bietet eine State of the Art Umgebung und Equipment, um die Entwicklung von neuen Halbleiter-Bauelementen in Forschung und Lehre zu ermöglichen. Hauptziel der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten ist der Transfer innovativer Ideen aus der Grundlagenforschung in neuartige Gerätekonzepte, was auch durch eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie und internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen erreicht wird.

http://zmns.tuwien.ac.at, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster

Mehr zu den TU Wien Forschungs-Facilities, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

TU Wien Hauptgebäude

Förderberatung und Wirtschaftskooperationen

Resselgasse 3/ Stiege 2/ 3. Stock
Gebäude AS (barrierefreier Zugang)
1040 Wien

wirtschaftskooperationen@tuwien.ac.at

Team