The Wittgenstein Award is intended to guarantee top researchers the maximum degree of freedom and flexibility in conducting their research work.

TU Wien Award Winners

  • 2013: Ulrike Diebold, Applied Physics, surface research, oxide surfaces

  • 2006: Hannes-Jörg Schmiedmayer, Atomic Physics, quantum optics, miniaturisation onto chip

  • 2002: Ferenc Krausz, Quantum Optics: ultra-fast and strong field processes

  • 1998: Georg Gottlob, Information systems and artificial intelligence

  • 1997: Erich Gornik, Semiconductor nano-electronics