Franz Viehböck Young Investigator Prize

Each year the Institute of Applied Physics at the TU Wien awards the Franz Viehböck Young Investigator Prize. This Prize carries the name of the founder of our institute, Prof. Franz Viehböck (director 1970 – 1987). It is endowed with EURO 1.500,- . The prize money can be used to cover travel expenses for conference visits or stays abroad at the discretion of the prize winner.

List of Previous Winners

  • 2019: Christian Cupak (134-03)
  • 2020: Valentina Wieser (134-02)
  • 2021: Lena Haager (134-05)
  • 2022: Markus Felber (134-02)

From 2020, in addition to the main prize, up to two appreciation prizes (€500 travel expenses) are generally awarded:

  • 2020: Carolina Kopittke and David Rath
  • 2021: Martina Fellinger and Simon Jaritz
  • 2022: Florian Altmann and Johannes Brötzner