Written in comic script in speech bubbles: Art, Science, Cultural Collisions, Education, cool - lightning bolts are drawn in between.

Cultural Collisions

Cultural Collisions brings together different disciplines and different people, diversity takes place at all levels, but the goal is the big picture.

The internationally tested, interdisciplinary art and science education format gives pupils access to the world of science and technology. They approach complex topics through artistic exploration. This promotes early inspiration for their later choice of studies. 

The diversity of technology and the associated job profiles, which are constantly changing with great dynamism, are often difficult for young people to grasp. Outdated role models and persistent stereotypes still deter young women. 

Cultural Collisions enables a new approach through a creative approach to directly experience the perspective of "technician as a profession". In addition to highlighting career options, this also helps to counteract the lack of young people in STEM professions.

Challenges

Society faces the following challenges: 

  • shortage of young people in STEM professions 
  • Outdated role models and stereotypes
  • low number of female students in technical and scientific studies

We counteract these with the Cultural Collisions project by inspiring students to study STEM subjects and motivating them to break through stereotypes. In this way, we improve the image of technical professions and master the challenges of the future with suitable skilled personnel. The artistic and creative engagement with scientific topics creates interdisciplinary competences that are urgently needed in almost all fields in the 21st century.

Target group

Aimed at teachers and their classes with pupils between 12 and 14 years of age. 

Focus on climate change

The content is dedicated to climate change. Among them are the following focal topics: 

  • Cities / Buildings
  • Energy
  • Production / Technologies
  • Resources / Materials
  • (E-)Mobility

Sponsors and donors

We would like to thank our sponsors and donors who make such a project possible.

Overall Project management and Fundraising

Portrait photo Nicole Moneta

© Klaus Ranger

Nicole Moneta, BSc

Phone: +43 1 58801 406808
culturalcollisions@tuwien.ac.at   

Content-related project management and coordination

Portrait photo Michael Hoch

© Michael Hoch

Dr. Michael Hoch

culturalcollisions@tuwien.ac.at    

About Michael Hoch

Michael Hoch, born in Vienna, studied at TU Wien (Technical Physics) and at University of Vienna (Teaching SubjectPhysics and Sports). During his studies he also realised several art projects. After his doctorate, he planned and built one of the large detectors at the CERN-LHC project in the ALICE science collaboration. Afterwards, he worked as a senior physicist at CERN for the Austrian Academy of Science on the CMS experiment and began to work artistically again. 

In the last 10 years Hoch has initiated, planned and/or managed many international science communication projects. For his specialisation, the "creation of an interdisciplinary science and art dialogue based on global networking of competence bearers", he received the award for "Science Communication" from the EPH European Physical Society in 2017. In recent years, he has successfully implemented projects in Korea, the USA, Canada, Japan, Oman, Colombia, the Balkans, as well as in Austria and Switzerland. These events, which always have an educational component, have been recognised and awarded several times internationally.

Impressions of past events

Background image: © brainpencil – stock.adobe.com, Lettering: TinyDoz – stock.adobe.com

In Comic Schrift in Sprechblasen geschrieben: Art, Science, Cultural Collisions, Education, cool - dazwischen sind Blitze gezeichnet

Cultural Collisions

Cultural Collisions lässt unterschiedliche Disziplinen und unterschiedliche Menschen aufeinandertreffen, Diversität findet auf allen Ebenen statt, das Ziel aber ist das große Ganze.

Das international erprobte, interdisziplinäre Kunst- und Wissenschaftsvermittlungsformat ermöglicht Schüler_innen einen Zugang zur Welt der Wissenschaft und Technik. Sie nähern sich mittels künstlerischer Auseinandersetzung komplexen Themen an. Dies fördert die frühzeitige Inspiration für die spätere Studienwahl.

Die Vielfalt von Technik und die damit verbundenen Berufsbilder, die sich mit großer Dynamik laufend verändern, sind für Jugendliche oft schwer fassbar. Veraltete Rollenbilder und hartnäckige Stereotype schrecken junge Frauen immer noch ab. Cultural Collisions ermöglicht durch den kreativen Ansatz einen neuen Zugang, um die Perspektive „Beruf Techniker_in“ direkt zu erfahren.

Dadurch wird neben dem Aufzeigen von Karriereoptionen auch dem Nachwuchsmangel in den MINT-Berufen entgegengewirkt.

Herausforderungen

Die Gesellschaft steht folgenden Herausforderungen gegenüber: 

  • Nachwuchsmangel in MINT-Berufen 
  • veraltete Rollenbilder und Stereotype
  • geringe Anzahl weiblicher Studierender in technischen und naturwissenschaftlichen Studien 

Diesen wirken wir mit dem Projekt Cultural Collisions entgegen, indem wir Schüler_innen für Studien im MINT-Bereich begeistern und sie motivieren, Stereotype zu durchbrechen. Dadurch verbessern wir das Image der technischen Berufe und meistern mit geeignetem Fachpersonal die Herausforderungen der Zukunft. Die künstlerische und kreative Auseinandersetzung mit wissenschaftlichen Themen schafft interdisziplinäre Kompetenzen, die im 21. Jahrhundert in nahezu allen Bereichen dringend benötigt werden.

Zielgruppe

Angesprochen sind Pädagog_innen und deren Schulklassen mit Schüler_innen zwischen 12 und 14 Jahren.

Themenschwerpunkt Klimawandel

Die inhaltliche Ausrichtung widmet sich dem Klimawandel. Darunter befinden sich folgende Schwerpunktthemen:

  • Städte / Gebäude
  • Energie
  • Produktion / Technologien
  • Ressourcen / Materialien
  • (E-) Mobilität

Sponsoren und Fördergeberinnen 

Wir danken unseren Sponsoren und Fördergeberinnen, die solch ein Projekt erst ermöglichen. 

Gesamtprojektleitung und Fundraising

Portraitfoto Nicole Moneta

© Klaus Ranger

Nicole Moneta, BSc

Telefon: +43 1 58801 406808
culturalcollisions@tuwien.ac.at   

Inhaltliche Projektleitung und Koordination

Portraitfoto Michael Hoch

© Michael Hoch

Dr. Michael Hoch

culturalcollisions@tuwien.ac.at ​​​

Über Michael Hoch

Michael Hoch, geboren in Wien, studierte an der TU Wien (Technische Physik) und an der Universität Wien (Lehramt Physik und Sport). Schon während des Studiums realisierte er außerdem einige Kunstprojekte. Nach seiner Promotion plante und baute er am CERN-LHC Projekt bei der Wissenschaftskollaborationen ALICE einen der großen Detektoren mit. Danach war er als Senior Physicist am CERN für die Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaft beim CMS Experiment wissenschaftlich tätig und begann wieder künstlerisch zu arbeiten. 

In den letzten 10 Jahren hat Hoch viele internationale Wissenschaftskommunikationsprojekte initiiert, geplant und/oder geleitet. Für seine Spezialisierung, die „Schaffung eines interdisziplinaren Wissenschaft- und Kunst-Dialoges basierend auf globaler Vernetzung von Kompetenzträgern“, bekam er 2017 von der EPH Europäischen Physikalischen Gesellschaft den Preis für „Wissenschaftskommunikation“. Die letzten Jahre hat er erfolgreich Projekte in Korea, USA, Canada, Japan, Oman, Kolumbien, am Balkan, wie auch in Österreich und der Schweiz umgesetzt. Diese Veranstaltungen, die immer auch eine edukative Komponente haben, wurden mehrfach international gewürdigt und ausgezeichnet.

Impressionen vergangener Veranstaltungen

Headerbild: © brainpencil – stock.adobe.com, Schrift: TinyDoz – stock.adobe.com