Welcome to the GEO Green Team website!

The Geodesy and Geoinformation (GEO) Department has founded the "GEO Green Team" group in 2018. The GEO Green Team consist of staff members and students who dedicate their free time for the creation of a more climate friendly work environment. Regular monthly lunch meetings (1 hr) are held to talk about what we see is still missing and what we can do in order to achieve these environmental friendlier goals: transport, waste reduction, recycling and upcycling, composting, energy and water conservation, pollution prevention, communication of sustainable facts and goals outside of the GEO Green Team. In these meetings tasks are gathered and if possible issued to volunteers e.g., gathering information needed, planning new sustainable structures, creating fact sheets for colleagues, planning film events, creating Bachelor/Master thesis, etc.

 

If possible events and activities are organised:

  • Movie evening watching a Documentary on plastic waste
  • Walk/bike - to - work challenge for a month
  • Clean-up-a-mountain-hike activity
  • A visit to "Spitelau" waste disposal factory in Vienna

 

In addition, long-term changes are promoted and enabled on a institute and/or departement level:

  • Waste separation and recycling bins in the kitchen
  • Storage for reusable lunchboxes in the kitchen to help reduce waste when getting lunch from restaurants
  • Local/biological catering for events
  • Waste free and fair trade coffee bean delivery each month to the full Departement
  • Flea market window sill area within the Departement (bring in old things that are to good to throw away, a co-worker could maybe use it: books, lamps, mirrors, earrings, etc.)

 

One of the big achievements of this group is the creation of a TU Green Team which should help to tackle higher level infrastructural sustainable challenges, goals and activities on a University level.
While TU Green Team is now the main group of this movement, the GEO Green Team is helping to achieve goals set by TU Green Team and keeps on brainstorming for new ideas and activities to keep people also within the GEO Departement up to date on how to be more sustainably conscious and environmental friendly at work and maybe also beyond.

Willkommen auf der Website des GEO Green Teams!

Das Department für Geodäsie und Geoinformation (GEO) hat im Jahr 2018 die Gruppe "GEO Green Team" gegründet. Das GEO Green Team besteht aus Mitarbeitern und Studenten, die ihre Freizeit für die Schaffung eines klimafreundlicheren Arbeitsumfelds einsetzen. In regelmäßigen monatlichen Mittagstreffen (1 Stunde) wird besprochen, was aus unserer Sicht noch fehlt und was wir tun können, um diese umweltfreundlicheren Ziele zu erreichen: Transport, Abfallreduzierung, Recycling und Upcycling, Kompostierung, Energie- und Wassereinsparung, Vermeidung von Umweltverschmutzung, Kommunikation von nachhaltigen Fakten und Zielen außerhalb des GEO Green Teams. Bei diesen Treffen werden Aufgaben gesammelt und, wenn möglich, an Freiwillige vergeben, z.B. das Sammeln benötigter Informationen, die Planung neuer nachhaltiger Strukturen, die Erstellung von Informationsblättern für Kollegen, die Planung von Filmveranstaltungen, die Erstellung von Bachelor-/Masterarbeiten, usw.

 

Wenn möglich, werden Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten organisiert:

  • Filmabend mit einem Dokumentarfilm über Plastikmüll
  • Einen Monat lang zu Fuß oder mit dem Fahrrad zur Arbeit
  • Clean-up-Bergwanderung
  • Besuch der Abfallentsorgungsfabrik "Spittelau" in Wien

 

Darüber hinaus werden langfristige Veränderungen auf Instituts- und/oder Departementsebene gefördert und ermöglicht:

  • Abfalltrennung und Recyclingbehälter in der Küche
  • Aufbewahrung von wiederverwendbaren Lunchpaketen in der Küche, um die Abfallmenge zu reduzieren, wenn das Mittagessen von Restaurants bezogen wird
  • Lokales/biologisches Catering für Veranstaltungen
  • Monatliche Lieferung von abfallfreien und fair gehandelten Kaffeebohnen an das gesamte Departement
  • Flohmarkt auf der Fensterbank des Departements (bring alte Dinge, die zu schade zum Wegwerfen sind, ein Mitarbeiter könnte sie vielleicht gebrauchen: Bücher, Lampen, Spiegel, Ohrringe usw.)

 

Eine der großen Errungenschaften dieser Gruppe ist die Gründung eines TU Green Teams, das dabei helfen soll, übergeordnete infrastrukturelle nachhaltige Herausforderungen, Ziele und Aktivitäten auf Universitätsebene in Angriff zu nehmen.
Während das TU Green Team nun die Hauptgruppe dieser Bewegung ist, hilft das GEO Green Team dabei, die vom TU Green Team gesetzten Ziele zu erreichen, und denkt sich immer wieder neue Ideen und Aktivitäten aus, um die Menschen auch innerhalb des GEO Departments auf dem Laufenden zu halten, wie sie bei ihrer Arbeit und vielleicht auch darüber hinaus nachhaltiger und umweltfreundlicher handeln können.