ACE Field Trip

EXPO Dubai - Connecting Minds, Creating the Future

The Field Trip EXPO Dubai, organized by the ACE of TU Wien and the Alumni Association of the University Courses for Real Estate Management (ImmoABS), took place from November 12 to 14, 2021. Following the motto "Connecting Minds, Creating the Future", the topics of opportunity, mobility and sustainability were presented in 192 pavilions at the Expo site in an innovative and creative way.

More than 50 interested persons took the opportunity to get to know the cosmopolitan trade city on the Persian Gulf and also to exchange and network with each other. The participants consisted of graduates and students of the relevant fields of study Real Estate & Building, Renewable Energy Systems as well as Environmental Technologies and International Affairs.

As a kick-off to the three-day field trip, a city tour offered a first overview of the capital of the Emirate Dubai. Remarkable construction projects are built in Dubai almost non-stop, creating spectacular skylines. Compared to the neighboring emirate of Abu Dhabi, Dubai has a lower oil supply and has been pursuing a compensation strategy for years: Dubai as a whole is focusing on tourism and sparing no effort in doing so. Artificially created islands, for example, are to extend the original 70 km of beach to 1,000 km of tourist beaches in the coming years.

The second day was dedicated to Expo 2020 (the name was kept after the postponement from 2020 to 2021 due to Covid19). Andreas Pfleger, the deputy economic delegate of the Foreign Trade Center Abu Dhabi received the delegation in the Austria Pavilion,, opens an external URL in a new window and reported on the economic sectors real estate, energy and environment in Dubai and the economic relations between Austria and the United Arab Emirates, supported by Mr. Shankar Menon, Key Account Marketing Manager of the Foreign Trade Center Abu Dhabi. Then, Philipp Schramel, the head of the Austrian Pavilion, gave an overview of the Austrian contribution to the Expo - with the extraordinary architecture of the pavilion and the focus "Austria makes sense", the exhibition inside shows a consistent, well thought-out overall concept and combines people, technology and the environment into an impressive experience made for all senses. After lunch in the pavilion, the participants were free to explore the Expo on their own.

Last but not least, the final day offered an intense course-specific expert program for the respective participants - they could choose from programs in the fields of Real Estate and Energy & Environment

The participants of the Real Estate Track started the specialized day with a meeting with two experts from CBRE Middle East Region, opens an external URL in a new window: Nicholas Maclean RD FRICS IRRV (Managing Director) and Taimur Khan (Head of Research). In his presentation, Mr. Khan gave a detailed insight into the real estate industry of the United Arab Emirates, discussed the Covid-19 related economic developments and the future prospects for the region and Dubai in particular. Afterwards, the participants took the opportunity to ask the experts questions and exchange experiences. Nicholas Maclean, who has also taken over the board of RICS for one year, reported on the restructuring so that RICS can again be of immediate and efficient use to its members.

After starting off with real estate theory, the delegation headed to the Mohammed Bin Rashid City urban development area in the afternoon to visit one of the construction projects on site. The host, Sobha Realty,, opens an external URL in a new window an international luxury residential developer, is developing the Sobha Hartland area,, opens an external URL in a new window with various housing types; from one-bedroom apartments to 6 bedroom villas. Wave, the tallest residential tower in Sobha Hartland will dominate the area with 35th floors. After a detailed safety briefing, all visitors were equipped with protective gear and led in small groups to the construction site on the 21st floor. The tour of the construction site with the various stages of completion and the subsequent exhibition of the construction details (floor and terrace superstructures, sanitary piping and other details) provided an excellent insight into the construction method and the quality standards of Sobha Realty.

The program of the Energy & Environment track started with a visit to two research projects of Khalifa University near Masdar City, Abu Dhabi. The Masdar Insititute's Solar Platform,, opens an external URL in a new window built in 2009, includes a solar thermal power plant with a 20-meter-high platform (Concentrated Solar Power,) and thermal energy storage facilities. The facility tests reflector technologies, solar receivers, and thermal energy storage systems, among others, for use in the CSP industry. The second project to be toured was a facility producing sustainable biofuels for aviation. The Seawater Energy and Agriculture System (SEAS, opens an external URL in a new window) combines an integrated system of aquaculture, halo agriculture, and mangrove silviculture. In 2019, the first flight using the fuel produced by the SEAS project took place.

After a visit to the Great Mosque in Abu Dhabi, the so-called Sustainable City, opens an external URL in a new window in the southwest of Dubai was on the schedule. On an area of 5 million square meters, the real estate company Diamond Developers,, opens an external URL in a new window successfully demonstrates that energy-efficient residential design and sustainable building methods are possible and sensible even in the subtropical climate of the Middle East.

We would like to thank all partners for the friendly reception of our delegation on site and the impressions and insights offered. We hope to see our students and alumni again soon in the course of one of our ACE Networking Events at TU Wien.

EXPO Dubai Österreich Pavillon

© EXPO Austria/querkraft-bagienski

The Austrian EXPO Pavillon

group picture

The participants of the Field Trip

Masdar Institute Solar Platform

Masdar Institute Solar Platform

Model of Sustainable City Dubai

Model of Sustainable City

EXPO Dubai Austria Pavillon

Austria Pavillon

View from Burj Khalifa

View from Burj Khalifa

View over Sobha Hartland Area

View over Sobha Hartland

Presentation CBRE Middle East

Presentation CBRE Middle East

ACE Field Trip

EXPO Dubai - Connecting Minds, Creating the Future

Von 12. bis 14. November 2021 fand der Field Trip EXPO Dubai statt, der durch die ACE der TU Wien und den Absolvent_innenverband der Universitätslehrgänge für Immobilienmanagement (ImmoABS) organisiert wurde. Unter dem Motto „Connecting Minds, Creating the Future“ werden in Dubai bis 31. März 2022 am Expo-Gelände in 192 Pavillons die Themenbereiche Chancen, Mobilität und Nachhaltigkeit auf innovative und kreative Weise präsentiert.

Über 50 Interessierte nutzten die Gelegenheit um die kosmopolitische Handelsstadt am Persischen Golf kennenzulernen und sich auch untereinander auszutauschen und zu vernetzen. Die Teilnehmerschaft setzte sich aus Absolvent_innen und Studierenden der einschlägigen Studienrichtungen Immobilienwirtschaft, Erneuerbare Energiesysteme sowie Umwelttechnologien und internationale Beziehungen zusammen.

Als Auftakt zum dreitägigen Field Trip bot eine Stadtrundfahrt einen ersten Überblick über die Hauptstadt des Emirates Dubai. Bemerkenswerte Bauprojekte entstehen in Dubai beinahe am laufenden Band und lassen dabei spektakuläre Skylines entstehen. Das, im Vergleich zum Nachbaremirat Abu Dhabi, ölarme Dubai verfolgt seit Jahren eine Kompensationsstrategie: ganz Dubai setzt auf Tourismus und scheut dabei keine Anstrengung. Künstlich angelegte Inseln sollen beispielweise in den kommenden Jahren die ursprünglichen 70 km Strand auf 1.000 km touristisch nutzbare Strände ausweiten.

Der zweite Tag stand ganz im Zeichen der Expo 2020 (der Name wurde nach der Covid19-bedingten Verschiebung von 2020 auf 2021 dennoch beibehalten). Andreas Pfleger, der stv. Wirtschaftsdelegierte des Außenwirtschafts Center Abu Dhabi empfing die Delegation im Österreich Pavillon , öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fensterund berichtete über die Wirtschaftsbereiche Immobilien, Energie und Umwelt in Dubai und die Wirtschaftsbeziehungen zwischen Österreich und den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten, unterstützt durch Herrn Shankar Menon, Key Account Marketing Manager des Außenwirtschafts Center Abu Dhabi. Anschließend gab Philipp Schramel, der Leiter des Österreichischen Pavillons, einen Überblick über den österreichischen Beitrag zur Expo – mit der außergewöhnlichen Architektur des Pavillons und dem Fokus „Austria makes sense“ zeigt die Ausstellung im Inneren ein durchgängiges, gut durchdachtes Gesamtkonzept und verbindet Mensch, Technologie und Umwelt zu einem eindrucksvollen Erlebnis für alle Sinne. Nach dem gemeinsamen Lunch im Pavillon konnten die Teilnehmer_innen die Expo auf eigene Faust erkunden.

Zu guter Letzt bot der Abschlusstag ein intensives Expert_innenprogramm für die jeweiligen lehrgangsspezifischen Teilnehmerinnen – es konnte aus Programmen im Bereich Real Estate und Energy & Environment gewählt werden.

Die Teilnehmer_innen desTrack Real Estate starteten den fachspezifischen Tag mit einem Treffen mit zwei Experten von CBRE Middle East Region, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster: Nicholas Maclean RD FRICS IRRV (Managing Director) und Taimur Khan (Head of Research). Herr Khan gab in seinem Vortrag einen detaillierten Einblick in die Immobilienwirtschaft der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate, ging auf die Covid-19 bedingten wirtschaftlichen Entwicklungen und die Zukunftsperspektiven für die Region und im Besonderen für Dubai ein. Anschließend nutzten die Teilnehmer_innen die Möglichkeit den Experten Fragen zu stellen und Erfahrungen auszutauschen. Nicholas Maclean, der auch für ein Jahr den Vorstand von RICS übernommen hat, berichtete von der Umstrukturierung, damit die RICS wieder unmittelbar und effizient für die Mitglieder von Nutzen sein kann.

Nach dem Auftakt mit der immobilienwirtschaftlichen Theorie, fuhr die Delegation am Nachmittag in das Stadtentwicklungsgebiet Mohammed Bin Rashid City, um vor Ort eines der Bauprojekte zu besichtigen. Der Gastgeber, Sobha Realty, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster, ein internationaler Projektentwickler für Luxuswohnungen, entwickelt das Sobha Hartland Areal, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster mit verschiedenen Wohnformen; von Einzimmerapartments bis zu 6 Schlafzimmer Villen. Wave, der höchste Wohnturm in Sobha Hartland wird mit 35 Stockwerken das Areal dominieren. Nach einer ausführlichen Sicherheitseinweisung wurden alle Besucher_innen mit einer Schutzausrüstung ausgestattet und in Kleingruppen auf die Baustelle in den 21. Stock geführt. Die Besichtigung der Baustelle mit den verschiedenen Ausbaustufen und die anschließende Ausstellung der Baudetails (Boden- und Terrassenaufbauten, Sanitär-Verrohrungen und weitere Details) vermittelten einen ausgezeichneten Einblick in die Bauweise und die Qualitätsstandards der Sobha Realty.

Das Programm des Energie & Umwelt Tracks startete mit der Besichtigung zweier Forschungsprojekte der Khalifa University Nähe Masdar City, Abu Dhabi. Die 2009 errichtete Solar Plattform des Masdar Insititute, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster umfasst ein Solarwärmekraftwerk mit 20 Meter hoher Plattform (Concentrated Solar Power) sowie Anlagen zur Wärmespeicherung (Thermal Energy Storage). In der Anlage werden unter anderem Reflektortechnologien, Solarreceiver und thermische Energiespeichersysteme zur Nutzung in der CSP-Industrie getestet. Als zweites Projekt wurde eine Anlage zur Erzeugung von nachhaltige Biokraftstoffen für die Luftfahrt besichtigt. Das Seawater Energy and Agriculture System (SEAS), öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster kombiniert ein integriertes System aus Aquakultur, Halo-Landwirtschaft und Mangroven-Waldbau. 2019 fand der erste Flug, mit dem im SEAS-Projekt hergestellten Treibstoff, statt.

Nach einem Besuch der großen Moschee in Abu Dhabi stand die sogenannte Sustainable City, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster im Südwesten Dubais am Programm. Auf 5 Millionen Quadratmetern zeigt die Immobiliengesellschaft Diamond Developers, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster erfolgreich, dass energieeffizientes Wohndesign und nachhaltige Baumethoden auch im subtropischem Klima des Nahen Ostens möglich und sinnvoll sind.

Wir bedanken uns bei allen Partner_innen für den freundlichen Empfang unserer Delegation vor Ort und die gebotenen Eindrücke und Insights und hoffen auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen mit Studierenden und Absolvent_innen im Zuge unserer ACE Networking Events an der TU Wien.

EXPO Dubai Österreich Pavillon

© EXPO Austria/querkraft-bagienski

Der Österreich Pavillon

Gruppenbild

Die Teilnehmer_innen des Field Trips

Masdar Institute Solar Platform

Masdar Institute Solar Platform

Model of Sustainable City Dubai

Modell Sustainable City

EXPO Dubai Austria Pavillon

Austria Pavillon

Blick über Sobha Hartland Areal

Blick über Sobha Hartland

Vortrag CBRE Middle East

Vortrag CBRE Middle East

Blick vom Burj Khalifa

Aussicht vom Burj Khalifa