The Copernicus Global Land Service (CGLS), opens an external URL in a new window is a component of the Land Monitoring Service, opens an external URL in a new window of Copernicus, opens an external URL in a new window, the European flagship programme on Earth Observation. It systematically provides in near-real-time a versatile portfolio of state-of-the-art products on biophysical variables, describing the state of Earth’s land surface to monitor the vegetation, the water cycle, the energy budget and the terrestrial cryosphere. The CGLS offers its rich portfolio on geophysical variables on an open and free basis, to users worldwide.

The Remote Sensing Group at TU Wien’s GEO Department developed the scientific algorithms and processing chains for the products Surface Soil Moisture (SSM) and the root-zone Soil Water Index (SWI), which are among the top-ranked datasets in the CGLS user statistics. Together with our partners at the Earth Observation Data Centre (EODC), opens an external URL in a new window and GeoSphere Austria, opens an external URL in a new window, we develop and maintain the production software of these products, and also monitor the product’s quality and consistency on a regular basis. The soil moisture data is available as daily image products in near-real-time (NRT), one global SWI product at the 0.1° sampling (~12 km), and over Europe at a 1km sampling a SWI and a SSM product.

CGLS soil moisture products over western Europe

© GEO Department

A sequence of five days of the CGLS soil moisture products during August 2018, when several summer storms brought rain to western Europe. In the SSM1km product (first four images) observing the conditions in the surface top soil, the two-satellite constellation of Sentinel-1A and -1B were able to capture a highly dynamical interplay of rainfall and drying periods in western Europe, while sections with no satellite overpass remain as observational gaps. The SWI1km product (fifth image) estimates the less fluctuating conditions in the deeper root soil layers, through the aggregation and filtering the SSM dynamics of the previous days. In this process, the SWI1km product combines observations from the Sentinel-1 and Metop-ASCAT satellites and thus achieves a complete coverage every day.

In the 2024-25 timeframe, several algorithmic enhancements developed in dedicated research activities co-funded by Austrian Space Applications Programme (ASAP), opens an external URL in a new window, Austrian Development Agency (ADA), opens an external URL in a new window, and European Space Agency (ESA), opens an external URL in a new window will be implemented in the CGLS operational production chains. The improvements include a dynamic vegetation modelling and the masking of snow and frozen soil or seasonal water bodies and floods. At the final phase of these so-called CGLS evolution activities, an extension of the 1 km soil moisture products to global coverage will be carried out, reaching out local users worldwide.

Das Copernicus Global Land Service (CGLS), öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster ist eine Komponente des Land Monitoring Service, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fensters in Copernicus, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster, dem europäischen Programm für Erdbeobachtung. Das CGLS stellt systematisch und in quasi-Echtzeit (near-real-time) hochqualitative Datenprodukte zu biophysikalischen Variablen zu Verfügung. Diese Variablen helfen den Zustand und Dynamik der Erdlandoberfläche zu beschreiben, und ermöglichen somit das Monitoring der Vegetation, des Wasserkreislaufs, des globalen Energiehaushalts, und der Kryosphäre. Das CGLS bietet sein umfangreiches Datenangebot kostenfrei und offen an, für Nutzer weltweit.

Die Fernerkundungsgruppe am GEO Department der TU Wien entwickelt die wissenschaftlichen Algorithmen sowie die Software für die Prozessketten zur Erstellung der Bodenfeuchteprodukte im CGLS. Die Oberflächenbodenfeuchte (Surface Soil Moisture, SSM) und die Feuchte des darunterliegenden Bodenprofils (Soil Water Index, SWI) sind unter den meistgenutzten Datenprodukten des CGLS. Zusammen mit unseren Partnern am Earth Observation Data Centre (EODC), öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster und der GeoSphere Austria, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster entwickeln wir die Produktionssoftware dazu weiter, und kontrollieren laufend die Qualität und Konsistenz der Datenreihen. Die Bodenfeuchtedaten sind als tägliche Bildprodukte in quasi-Echtzeit verfügbar, einmal als SWI mit weltweiter Abdeckung mit einer 0.1° Auflösung (~12 km), und über Europa als SWI und SSM mit einer 1 km Auflösung.

CGLS Bodenfeuchteprodukte über Westeuropa

© GEO Department

Die Abbildung zeigt eine 5-Tages-Abfolge der 1km CGLS Bodenfeuchteprodukte über Westeuropa, wo im August 2018 mehrere Sturmfronten Regen auf die relativ trockenen Böden brachten. Im SSM1km Produkt (die ersten 4 Bilder), welches die Bodenoberfläche beschreibt, konnten die beiden Satelliten der Sentinel-1 Radarmission die hochdynamische Abwechslung zwischen Regen und Trocknung gut erfassen, wobei jedoch an einzelnen Tagen große Teile des Gebiets nicht überflogen werden (weiße Abschnitte). Das SWI1km Produkt (5. Bild) schätzt die Feuchteverhältnisse in den tieferen Bodenschichten des Wurzelbereichs, wo generell weniger Dynamik vorherrscht. Der SWI1km kombiniert durch zeitliche Aggregation und Filterung Radarsatellitenbeobachtungen von Sentinel-1 mit Metop-ASCAT und erreicht dadurch täglich eine vollständige Abdeckung.

Im Zeitraum 2024-25 werden in den operationellen CGLS Bodenfeuchteprodukten zahlreichen algorithmische Weiterentwicklungen integriert, welche in Forschungsprojekten des Austrian Space Applications Programme (ASAP), öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster, der Austrian Development Agency (ADA), öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster, und der European Space Agency (ESA), öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster kofinanziert wurden. Die Verbesserungen umfassen eine dynamische Modellierung der Vegetation und die Maskierung von Schnee und Bodenfrost sowie von saisonalen Wasserflächen und Überflutungen. Als Abschluss dieser sogenannten CGLS Evolution Activities wird eine Ausdehnung der 1km Produkte auf die gesamte Landoberfläche implementiert, welche dann Nutzern weltweit zugutekommt.