Open Access

As a signatory to the Berlin Declaration, TU Wien is committed to promote open access to scientific knowledge and supports open access publishing as set out within the strategic guidelines of an open access policy open access policy.

TU Wien Bibliothek is – along with the researchers at TU Wien – the central protagonist in the implementation and promotion of open access. The range of publication services and support for open access publishing that is available to researchers at TU Wien was substantially broadened in 2018 with the foundation of TU Wien Academic Press – the academic publisher associated with TU Wien Bibliothek. As a consequence, the TU Wien now also supports open access publishing of monographs and series of publications in addition to the provision of infrastructure, technical services, advice about and financing open access publishing in journals.

 

Maximum reception through open access e-books and print edition

TU Wien Academic Press uses open access e-books as the standard format to assist all researchers in disseminating their scientific publications in the best way possible in accordance with TU Wien’s  open access policy.

The publication of e-books at no cost to authors and editors ensures accessibility for all members of TU Wien – doctoral students, project staff as well as members of the scientific and artistic staff. The production of book publications that are made available for download for free and that are protected by license guarantees the authors a maximum probability of reception and citation. Print versions of books are available as an additional option where they play a role depending on the subject or publication.

 

Open Access publishing: Did you know that …

  • … a professional, freely available electronic book publication (open access e-book) on the Internet increases the findability, visibility and use of your publication? [1]
  • … the availability of an open access e-book does not have a negative effect on sales of an additionally existing print edition of your book? [1]
  • … over a period of four years, open access e-books are on average quoted 50% more frequently than books that are not published free of charge? [2]

 

 


[1] Ferwerda, E. et al. (2018). OAPEN-CH – The impact of open access on scientific monographs in Switzerland. Bern, Switzerland: Swiss National Science Foundation. doi:10.5281/zenodo.1220607
[2] Emery, C., Lucraft, M., Morka, A. & Pyne, R. (2017). The OA effect: How does open access affect the usage of scholarly books? Retrieved from https://media.springernature.com/full/springer-cms/rest/v1/content/15176744/data/v3

Open Access

Als Unterzeichnerin der Berliner Erklärung bekennt sich die TU Wien zu einem offenen Zugang zu wissenschaftlichem Wissen und fördert das Open-Access-Publizieren unter den strategischen Leitlinien einer Open Access Policy.

An der TU Wien ist die Bibliothek neben den Wissenschaftler_innen die zentrale Akteurin bei der Umsetzung und Förderung von Open Access. Mit dem an der TU Wien Bibliothek angesiedelten Wissenschaftsverlag TU Wien Academic Press wurde das Portfolio der Publikationsservices und der Open-Access-Publikationsunterstützung für Wissenschaftler_innen im Jahr 2018 nochmals substanziell erweitert. Neben der Bereitstellung von Infrastrukturen und technischen Services, der Beratung und Förderung von Open-Access-Publikationen in Zeitschriften wird nun auch das Open-Access-Publizieren von Monografien und Buchreihen unterstützt.

 

Maximale Rezeption durch Open-Access-E-Books und Printausgabe

Mit dem Open-Access-E-Book als Standardformat bei TU Wien Academic Press unterstützt der Verlag alle Forschenden im Sinne der Open-Access-Policy der TU Wien dabei, ihre wissenschaftlichen Publikationen bestmöglich zu verbreiten.

Dabei stellt die für Autor_innen und Herausgeber_innen kostenfreie Publikation als E-Book die Zugänglichkeit für alle Angehörigen der TU Wien sicher – seien es Doktoratsstudierende, Projektmitarbeiter_innen sowie Mitglieder des wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Personals. Die Produktion einer für die Leser_innen frei zum Download verfügbaren und lizenzgeschützten Buchpublikation garantiert den Autor_innen zudem eine maximale Rezeptions- und Zitationswahrscheinlichkeit. Wo je nach Fach oder Publikation das Buch als Printversion eine Rolle spielt, steht diese als Zusatzoption zur Verfügung.

 

Open-Access-Publizieren: Wussten Sie, dass …

  • … eine professionelle, frei im Internet verfügbare elektronische Buchpublikation (Open-Access-E-Book) die Auffindbarkeit, Sichtbarkeit und Nutzung Ihrer Publikation erhöht? [1]
  • … die Verfügbarkeit eines Open-Access-E-Books sich nicht negativ auf den Verkauf einer zusätzlich bestehenden Printausgabe Ihres Buches auswirkt? [1]
  • … Open-Access-E-Books über einen Zeitraum von vier Jahren im Durchschnitt um 50% häufiger zitiert werden als nicht kostenfrei veröffentlichte Bücher? [2]

 


[1] Ferwerda, E. et al. (2018). OAPEN-CH – The impact of open access on scientific monographs in Switzerland. Bern, Switzerland: Swiss National Science Foundation. doi:10.5281/zenodo.1220607
[2] Emery, C., Lucraft, M., Morka, A. & Pyne, R. (2017). The OA effect: How does open access affect the usage of scholarly books? Retrieved from https://media.springernature.com/full/springer-cms/rest/v1/content/15176744/data/v3