News articles

Today in conversation with: Mag. Martin Schönberg, Environmental Technology & International Affairs, Class 2013-2015

Portrait Martin Schönberg

Mag. Martin Schönberg, MA, MSc, is currently Advisor for Hydropower at Eurelectric (Union of the Electricity Industry - Eurelectric is the sector association of the electricity industry in Europe) in Brussels, Belgium. He is an alumnus from our MSc programme "Environmental Technology & International Affairs", Class 2013-2015.

Why did you choose the ETIA master course at TU Wien?

I chose the ETIA programme as it supplemented my previous studies in the fields of environmental systems sciences and business administration. Specifically, I further wanted to look into international and technical aspects of the environmental field. 

What advices would you want to give to new prospective students for the ETIA master course - what should they know? 

I would advise new prospective students to choose their master’s thesis wisely. Especially the topic of the master’s thesis may be decisive for the first career steps. 

How did you benefit from the program personally?

Thanks to the ETIA programme, I immediately started to work the day right after my graduation. I joined VUM Verfahren Umwelt Management GmbH (thanks to my thesis supervisor) and worked there for about 2 ½ years in the field of environmental and project management. Moreover, the (ETIA and DA) alumni network is really useful. After my move to Brussels, I realized that a high number of contacts can facilitate the move into a new working and living environment. 

What comes to your mind when you think about the program? What were the highlights? 

The highlights of my ETIA studies were excursions, networking events (ETIA-excursions to Linz and to Dürnrohr, hiking tour of the Diplomatic Academy...) as well as the ETIA guest lectures. 

What are your hobbies?

Due to varying working hours (many business trips and evening events) I do not have regular hobbies or activities. On weekends and holidays I enjoy cycling, swimming, playing the guitar or picking mushrooms in the forests (when being at home in Carinthia, Austria).

In 10 years I will be….?

returned to the Alpe-Adria region (my favourite region – world-wide). I will expand my knowledge, take over new projects and will enjoy working with colleagues and superiors.