Academic Calendar

Dates and Deadlines at TU Wien

Academic year 2019/2020

Winter semester 2019/ 2020

Tuesday, 1 October 2019 to Saturday, 29 February 2020

Summer semester 2020

Monday, 2 March 2020 to Wednesday, 30 September 2020

Winter semester 2019/2020

General admission period: Monday, 08 July 2019 to Thursday, 5 September 2019

Extended amdission period (for master and doctoral programmes): Until Samstag, 30 November 2019

Summer semester 2020

General admission period: Tuesday, 7 January 2020 to Wednesday, 5 February 2020

Extended admission period (for master and doctoral programmes): Until Tuesday, 30 June 2020

  • Day of the Patron Saint of Vienna: Friday, 15 November 2019
  • Christmas Holidays: Thursday, 19 December 2019 to Saturday, 4 January 2020
  • Lecture free time: Friday, 31 January 2020 to Saturday, 29 February 2020
  • Easter Holidays: Monday, 6 April 2020 to Saturday, 18 April 2020

Pursuant to Section 2 of the Regulation of the Minister for Education, Science and Research there are no holidays in summer semester 2020. Lectures and examinations are offered also in July, August and September. The semester lasts until 30 September 2020.

Academic year 2020/2021

Winter semester 2020/2021

Thursday, 1 October 2020 to Sunday, 28 February 2021

Summer semester 2021

Monday, 1 March 2020 to Thursday, 30 September 2021

Winter semester 2020/2021

General admission period: Monday, 13 July 2020 to Wednesday, 30 September 2020
Extended amdission period (for master and doctoral programmes): Until Monday, 30 November 2020

Summer semester 2021

General admission period: Thursday, 07 January 2021 to Friday, 05 February 2021
Extended admission period (for master and doctoral programmes): Until Friday, 30 April 2021

  • All Souls' Day: Monday, 2 November 2020
  • Christmas Holidays: Saturday, 19 December 2020 to Tuesday, 5 January 2021
  • Lecture free time: Friday, 29 January 2021 to Sunday, 28 February 2021
  • Easter Holidays: Monday, 29 März 2021 to Saturday, 10 April 2021
  • Pentecost holiday: Tuesday, 25 June 2021
  • Rectors Day/dies academicus (no classes): Friday, 14 May 2021
  • Summer Holidays: Thursday, 1 July 2021 to Thursday, 30 September 2021